Hexcrawling and other resources

I am currently reading up on various ways of playing RPG, game modes if you will and “hexcrawling” has peaked my interest. It’s main focus is exploration rather than a prepared story line.

I’ve gathered a few hex-crawling resources below for future reference:

On Hexcrawling Design

* HEX-BASED CAMPAIGN DESIGN (PART 1)
* HEX-BASED CAMPAIGN DESIGN (PART 2

Hex Templates

Wilderness Travel in hexcrawls

From my understanding groups that play hexcrawl campaign are very interested in detailed logistics around travel and exploration. Personally I think it gets a little bit too detailed and mechanical – but then again my gaming experience is more on the story and emotional side of things.

* Hexcrawl (The Alexandrian blog) (blog article from 2012
* Hexcrawl – Part 2: Wilderness Travel (The Alexandrian Blog)

Campaign creation

Finally an interesting take on creating campaigns, not necessarily related to hexcrawling:

MID-SIZE CAMPAIGNS (PART 1) | PART 2 | PART 3

Leave a comment